WHS students win Adopt-a-Highway poster contest

-A A +A

Students from Williamstown Independent Schools were winners in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s 2010 Adopt-a-Highway poster contest.


Appy Webster won first place and Anna Ramirez won third place in the 15-17 age group.

“The purpose of the contest is to increase environmental awareness among children,” said Transportation Secretary Mike Hancock. “We hope to educate our young people about the damaging effects of litter, and to change attitudes and behaviors about littering.”

The first-place winner in each of four categories receives a $100 savings bond, while second-, and third-place winners each receive a $50 savings bond. All the winners receive framed prints of their posters. Awards were presented during a luncheon ceremony Friday, Dec. 17, at the Executive Mansion in Frankfort.

The Transportation Cabinet received 1,986 Adopt-a-Highway poster contest entries from students throughout the Commonwealth. Calendars featuring the winners’ posters will be provided to all the winners and their classrooms.

This year’s contest judges were Transportation Secretary Mike Hancock, Education and Workforce Development Cabinet Secretary Joe Meyer, Georgetown College art galleries director Laura Stewart, Kentucky State University professor Reba Rye, Transportation Public Affairs Executive Director Chuck Wolfe, and Miranda Thacker, statewide coordinator.  Judges did not know the identities of the artists or their schools.

“With so many excellent posters this year and a tremendous amount of entries submitted, it was really hard to judge,” said Meyer.  “We appreciate all the hard work and effort the students put into their posters.  Every entry is a winner.”

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet urges students and teachers to get an early start on the 2011 poster contest. The cabinet will begin accepting entries on March 1, 2011. The entries will close on Sept. 30, 2011.