Filing sparse; deadline is Aug. 14

-A A +A
By Bryan Marshall

Residents interested in filing to run in a nonpartisan race in the Nov. 6 general election only have a few weeks remaining.
The deadline for candidates to file is 4 p.m. Aug. 14.
Forms can be picked up at the Grant County Clerk’s Office at 107 N. Main St. in Williamstown during regular business hours.
The local nonpartisan races this year include spots on Williamstown City Council, Dry Ridge City Council, Crittenden City Council and Corinth City Commission, along with Grant County Soil Conservation Board, Grant County School Board districts one, three and five and two Williamstown Independent School Board positions.
With the deadline looming, Grant County Clerk Leatha Conrad said there have only been a few who have filed so far.
As of July 24, those who have filed include:
• Crittenden: Clara Mulberry Brown and Jay Pierce
• Williamstown: Jacqualynn Riley
• Grant County School Board: Richard Bredenberg (district five)
• Williamstown Independent School Board: Donna Cheesman
The Nov. 6 election also will include several races with Democratic and Republican candidates.
Those races include:
• U.S. President: Barack Obama (D) and Mitt Romney (R)
• U.S. Representative, 4th district: William R. “Bill” Adkins (D) and Thomas Massie (R)
• State Senator, 17th district: Damon Thayer (R) and David Holcomb (D)
State Representative, 61st district: Brian E. Linder (R) and Wanda Crupper Hammons (D)
• Grant County Circuit Court Clerk: Shirley Wilson (D) and Tina “Beach” Melton (R)
• Constable, third district: Gary Greenwell (D) and John W. Childers (R)
The Grant County News and the Grant County Chamber of Commerce will be holding a candidates’ forum Oct. 11 at Williamstown High School.
All candidates will receive information regarding the forum by registered mail.