Department of Fish and Wildlife to hold meeting Dec. 15

-A A +A

More than 230 people attended a Nov. 29 town hall meeting in Gilbertsville held by the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources. The Monday night meeting was the first of nine sessions scheduled across the state during the next two weeks.

“A lot of people ran through heavy rain just so they could join us for this meeting,” noted Kentucky Fish and Wildlife Commissioner Jon Gassett. “That shows us the real interest that people have in fish and wildlife issues.”

The Kentucky Fish and Wildlife town hall meetings continued Tuesday in Powderly. Commission members representing the district and leaders of the agency’s various divisions are attending each meeting to personally answer questions from the audience.

“We serve the hunters, anglers, boaters and wildlife conservationists, so this is one way that we can hear their ideas, suggestions and views on how we manage fish and wildlife in Kentucky,” Gassett said. “We appreciate the chance to talk with the people around the state.”

Monday’s meeting began with an overview of the department’s mission, the status of wildlife in the state, new efforts to provide fishing access, trends and the challenges that lie ahead. Local residents next had the chance to talk about issues of interest to them and ask questions.

Residents at the first meeting touched on a variety of subjects including crappie fishing in Kentucky Lake; deer hunting opportunities; bass fishing tournaments; the Becoming an Outdoors-Woman program; the importance of commercial fishing to the control of invasive Asian carp and more.

“Knowing what is on the minds of people helps provide us guidance,” Gassett said. “Anyone who cares about wildlife conservation and the future of hunting and fishing needs to come to these meetings. We’ll be glad to see you there.”

The following meeting includes Grant County:
•    Edgewood, 5th Wildlife District, Wednesday, Dec. 15. Meeting to be held at the Edgewood Senior Center, 550 Freedom Park Drive. This district includes Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Henry, Kenton, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson and Trimble counties.