Williamstown students place in Kentucky Transportation poster contest

-A A +A

Recently, students from Williamstown Independent Schools as well as others across the state participated in the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s 2012 Adopt-a-Highway poster contest.


 “The purpose of the contest is to increase environmental awareness among children,” said Transportation Secretary Mike Hancock. “We hope to educate our young people about the damaging effects of litter, and to change attitudes and behaviors about littering.”

Nicole Giesbers won first in the 12 through 14 category and Brooklyn Wainscott and Quade Simpson won second and third in the age group 15 through 17.
The awards were presented at a luncheon ceremony at the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History in Frankfort.

The first-place winner in each of category received a $100 gift card, while second and third place winners each received a $50 gift card. All the winners received framed prints of their posters. In addition, calendars featuring the winners’ posters will be provided to all the winners and their classrooms.

 The Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) received 1,520 Adopt-a-Highway poster contest entries from students throughout the Commonwealth.
 Secretary Hancock headed the team of judges, which included Laura Stewart, director of art galleries at Georgetown College; Scott Ross, assistant professor of sculpture at Kentucky State University; Chuck Wolfe, KYTC executive director for public affairs; KYTC graphics designer Jeremy Wooldridge, and Miranda Thacker, KYTC Adopt-a-Highway state coordinator.  Judges did not know the identities of the artists or their schools.

“With so many excellent posters this year and a tremendous number of entries submitted, it was really hard to judge,” Secretary Hancock said.  “We appreciate all the hard work and effort the students put into their posters. Every entry is a winner.”

 The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet urges students and teachers to get an early start on the 2013 poster contest.
The cabinet will begin accepting entries on March 1, 2013.