-A A +A

Jennifer Maddox, of Dry Ridge, was one of the 2,200 students who received degrees during graduation ceremonies April 30 at Indiana Wesleyan University in Marion.
Maddox earned a B.S.N., nursing, degree.

Lacy Walters of Williamstown was named to the dean’s list at the University of the Cumberlands for the 2011 spring semester.
To be eligible students must have achieved a grade of “P” in convocation while maintaining a minimum cumulative scholastic standing of 3.50.

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; seven graduate degrees, including a doctorate and six master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.

Grant County High School graduates, who are Transylvania University seniors, Katrina and Raven Mineo, and Williamstown High School graduate, and Transylvania University first-year student, Cleo Northcutt have all been named to the dean’s list for the 2011 winter term.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must achieve at least a 3.5 grade point average during the term.

Katrina Mineo is a sociology/anthropology major and classical studies minor. Raven Mineo is a history major and educational studies and classical studies double minor. They are the daughters of Brian Richey of Crittenden and Paula Richey of Dry Ridge.

Northcutt is the daughter of Jan Neace of Dry Ridge and Ronnie Northcutt of Williamstown.

Gateway Community and Technical College recognized 83 students and one student organization for outstanding academic, technical or leadership performance at the college’s fifth annual awards convocation on May 17.

The Student Ad Club earned recognized as the outstanding student organization of the year. Earlier this spring, members of the Student Ad Club won 10 awards in the Cincinnati Ad Club’s competition, including Best in Show and the Judge’s Choice Award.

Student award recipients at the Night of Excellence included:

Daniel Herrmann, Collision Repair Technology Second-Yr. Student of the Year, Corinth

Steven Wright, National Technical Honor Society, Corinth

Jordan Souder, English Department Writer of Excellence, Crittenden

Scottie Kearns, National Technical Honor Society, Dry Ridge

William Wilson, Collision Repair Technology Work Ethics Award and Collision Repair Technology First Yr. Student of the Year, Dry Ridge

The following students received scholarships: Steven Wright, Corinth; Trent Baker Jr., Demossville and Patti Furguson, Dry Ridge