44 file locally for judge, clerk, jailer, magistrate

-A A +A
By Bryan Marshall

The race is on.
The slate of candidates for the May 20 primary election is set with the passing of the Jan. 28 filing deadline.
There are seven candidates looking to replace Darrell Link as Grant County judge-executive.
The Republican candidates are Williamstown Independent School Board member Pete Whaley, J. Christopher Ammerman and Steve Wood, who narrowly lost to Link four years ago.
Democratic candidates include county magistrate Richard Austin, former circuit clerk Shirley Wilson, Keith Ellington and Anitra Jump.
The most crowded race is for county clerk as nine candidates vie tfor the spot after Leatha Conrad’s retirement.
The seven Democrat candidates are Tabatha Clemons, Vicki Vance, Crystal Fryman, Mike Hare, Cheryl Arnold, Ashley Cochran and Tammy Pelfrey Henry. On the Republican side, Missy Preston and Elliot “Eli” Anderson will face off in the primary.
The fiscal court will also see a shakeup with at least one new magistrate set to be elected with Austin filing for judge-executive.
In the first magisterial district, Williamstown City Council member Jacqalynn Riley and Grant County School Board member Charlotte Schmidt will go head-to-head in the Republican primary.
On the Democratic side, Ray Kinmon, Timothy Burgess II, Douglas Tatum and Royce “Rusty” Willoughby will try to make it to the November general election.
In the second magisterial district, Republicans Dwayne Keith Heaverin, Wayne Browning and Shawna Coldiron will battle to see who will face either current magistrate Wanda Hammons or Dry Ridge City Council member Carisa Hughett on the Democratic side in the general election.
Magistrate Bobby Young, a Democrat, will wait to November to try to ward off one of two Republican challengers in Bobby Newman and David J. Rose for the third magisterial district seat.
Democrat jailer Terry Peeples will also sit out the primary as four Republicans face off in the primary for the right to try to keep him from a second term. The Republican candidates for jailer are Tim Slone, Chris Hankins, Ronald Harrison and Harvey Perleberg.
The race for constable in the second district will pit Democrats Brent “Tank” Cummins and Shawn Denver Perkins against each other.
Republicans John Childers and William Michael Rogers will also vie for constable in the third district.
In the non-partisan race for circuit judge, 15th district, R. Leslie Knight, John Brent Threlkeld and William Adkins have filed as candidates.
Other candidates who filed for office without challengers include:
State Representative, 61st District
• Brian Linder- R
• Chuck Dills- R
County Attorney
• Joe Taylor, R
• Robert McDaniel- R
Property Valuation Administrator
• Angela McLafferty- D
District Judge, 15th district, first division (non-partisan)
• Elizabeth Chandler
District Judge, 15 district, second division (non-partisan)
• Thomas Funk
Constable, first district
• Patrick Michael Stanley - R