2014 Elementary School District Governor’s Cup

-A A +A

WES, CMZ academic teams finish first, second in district competition


Host Williamstown Elementary won the district Governor’s Cup competition March 1 over three local schools.
Crittenden-Mt. Zion Elementary places second, followed by Dry Ridge Elementary and Mason-Corinth Elementary.
CMZ won first place in the Quick Recall competition while WES placed second. Both teams will move on to the regional Quick Recall competition on March 22 at St. Cecelia School in Independernce.
CMZ also won the Future Problem Solving competition with MCE in second place.
DRE received the Hume Sportsmanship Award.
The top five students in each subject assessment will also move onto the regional competition.
Those students are:
• Mathematics-
1. Ross Hillman, CMZ
2. Colton Scalf, CMZ
3. CJ Tien, WES
3. Ashley Warren, DRE
5. Sophia McKenney, WES

• Science
1. Olivia Antrobus, WES
2. Graham Bitler, DRE
3. Jackson Stiles, MCE
4. Jade Broughton, WES
5. Daniel Allie, DRE

• Composition
1. Elijah Waters, WES
2. Cheyanne Scherder, MCE
3. Lindsy Adams, WES
4. Colton Scalf, CMZ
5. Kendall Clark, MCE

• Social Studies
1. Olivia Antrobus, WES
2. Sophia Hornbeck, WES
3. Faith Woodyard, MCE
4. Ethan Gutman, WES
5. George Kleinwachter, DRE

• Language Arts
1. Abigail Phillips, DRE
2. Elliot Herzog, CMZ
3. Kailyn Xayakone, MCE
4. Elizabeth Collins, DRE
5. Brandi Adams, WES

• Arts and Humanities
1. Abigail Phillips, DRE
2. Gabriela Rios, DRE
3. Jemma Adams, WES
4. Ricky Horstman, CMZ
5. Ethan Gutman, WES